3 Weeks, a few days and some good news…

So here we are, just 3 weeks and a few days lie between me and the biggest race of my life.

OH MY GOD.

It doesn’t really feel real… when I entered IM Copenhagen last September it seemed so far away, and now it’s just round the corner.

People keep asking how I’m feeling about it, the truth is I don’t really know how I’m feeling about it! Lots of different emotions…

Excited, nervous, anxious, nauseous, eager, unprepared…

Shared by the Digital Entrepreneurs - Business Tip:  Nervous and excited are the same bodily sensation. One is negative and one is positive.     Stop saying you are nervous and start saying you are excited. www.DebBixler.com/home-business-training.html

Training has been going quite well the last few weeks to be honest, I’m enjoying it (well, not so much the sitting on my own in the garage on the turbo), and I’m seeing improvements especially with my running 😊

Over the weekend on Saturday I did a 90minute turbo followed by a 40minute 5 mile run, which felt pretty good. Then I swanned off up to London to meet uni friends which was lovely… Until I got a message from Simon saying he’d just done a 60 mile ride. I instantly felt guilty and that I should have been training too. When I got home he was just back from an 8 mile run…

Cue a near full on panic attack by yours truly.

I felt my heart rate increase and I felt super anxious and as if I was either going to throw up or burst into tears.

Needless to say, a few words of encouragement from my boy and I was straight back out into the garage on the bike. Another 90 minute spin helped no end, calming me down and reassuring that I still had something left in my legs after the morning’s session.

Sunday morning we woke to torrential rain. Which meant another stint on the bike in the garage.

2 hours later, I emerged, drenched in sweat and to be frank, pretty shattered, but happy.

Some food, a bit of a potter around and a bit of rest and I was then off out the door for another session.

This time, a run. I’d set myself a target of a 2 hour steady state run, the longest I’d done since the Milton Keynes Marathon at the start of May. I had no idea how I was going to feel, how far I would manage or even whether I would be able to run for 2 hours!

Off I went, I set out knowing that Simon was about to leave just after me and would be chasing me down. 1 mile came, and went… 2 miles came and went and there was no sign of him. I glanced at my watch and I was running well under 8 minute miles… Awesome!

He finally caught me around 3.5 miles and he seemed pretty shocked at how fast I was running, yay! As he glided past me I decided to try and keep up with him for as long as I could…

Oh what a bad idea.

I managed another 3 miles at Simon pace (aka suicide pace) around 7:20 min/miles, before he vanished into the distance and I was left plodding trying to keep below 8:30 min/miles.

But the miles kept clocking up and before I knew it I was at 10 miles, awesome 🙂

I’d been running in one direction for a while, without really knowing where I was going, so I turned and headed back towards home and as I approached the 2 hour mark I was just under 15 miles in.

I altered my route slightly to give me an extra mile, and managed my fastest 16 miles ever!! 2:10 (usually I’m around 2:16 for 16 miles during marathon training).

I’m not going to lie, I was knackered. But happy 🙂

At the moment, every time I run I seem to feel really emotional, I think I’m imagining how I’m going to feel towards the end of the Ironman marathon… Thinking about my mum and hoping I’m doing her proud. I think crossing that finish line is going to be an extremely emotional event for me, but I know that thinking of my wonderful mum will give me the strength to keep going when it gets really tough.

Chalkboard Inspirational Quote Art - Run With Your Heart - Typography 8x10 Print

So this morning I had physio. It was fantastic. My shoulder hasn’t been bothering me for a few days now and it feels almost back to normal, apart from muscle wasting in both arms from the lack of swimming it feels pretty much back to normal. After a quick strength and range of movement assessment, Anna seemed happy, so I asked, ‘Can I swim?’ and she said ‘YES’!!!!

Amazing.

She also said I can ride on the road, and am no longer confined to the turbo trainer in the pain cave. Although I haven’t got round to getting a new helmet yet so once that comes (tomorrow hopefully), I’ll be out there for real!

So tonight will hold the moment of truth, I’m off to the pool to see how my shoulder stands a few lengths. Fingers crossed 🙂

Thanks for reading!

An encouraged, emotional and excited triathlete x

What doesn't kill you makes you stronger

Leave a Reply

