Is it Taper Time Yet?

The countdown to Ironman Copenhagen has well and truly begun… My colleagues at work have made a board with a countdown…  

 

16 days til Ironman, and this is sat by my desk and every time I glance to the left I see it and a little bit of excitement/ panic/ nervousness/ anticipation overwhelms me! It’s quite distracting really!

Training wise this week I’ve been pretty exhausted after the weekend, and haven’t given myself a day off in a little while…

Tuesday I dragged myself to the lake, earlier in the afternoon I had pretty much convinced myself I was going to go home and put my feet up. I was so tired, the kind of tiredness where everything is an effort and you feel all emotional just because you want to sleep!

But I had to take Simon’s wetsuit and swim stuff to the lake anyway (he rides a motorbike… wetsuit + bags = too much stuff!) so I figured, ‘while I’m here I might as well’…

I got in, and started swimming.

After one lap I felt OK, so I carried on and did a solid 2 laps (1500m), then was about to get out when I thought, come on do one more… So I did three in total, 2250m and I was absolutely exhausted!

By the time I got out, Simon had just arrived at the lake so I gave him his stuff, took his work things and headed home.

A bit of chilling out ensued, along with cooking dinner and an early night 😊

Wednesday I had good intentions to get up early and go for a run, but after Tuesday’s exhaustion I decided a lie in was a better idea… So that’s what I did, and wow did it feel good after an early night!

One thing that excites me a ridiculous amount for 12 weeks of the year is Great British Bake Off! And that started this week… So obviously that meant that a cake had to be baked to enjoy while watching the first episode! Cue baking a carrot cake when I got home from work…  

After a 6 mile run and the second workout of BBG I settled down to watch GBBO and have dinner… Followed by a big old slice of caaaaaake. 

Not too shabby if I say so myself πŸ‘ŒπŸ»

Thursday evening there was an open water swim race organized at the lake in the business park I work at. It started at 6:30 so I had time to fit in a quick run beforehand.

Despite my legs feeling knackered I managed a pretty casual and comfortable run- just under 4 miles at sub 8 minute miles. And it felt pretty good!

Then Simon and I wandered to the lake, and had about 40 minutes to kill so we just wandered around for a bit, then got kitted up and ready to get in the lake. 

  
After a quick briefing, we were off. I set out at a fairly quick pace which felt pretty good, and soon enough I was in second place… I was aware of where Simon was because of his blue wetsuit, and I knew I needed to keep him behind me… #competitivemuch πŸ’ͺ🏻

After 4 x 250m laps I emerged from the lake in 19:42… First lady and second overall, and yes, I beat Simon πŸ˜‰

So today was a self enforced rest day… And all I’ve done is eat!!! And walk the dog so at least I got a little bit of exercise?!

Tomorrow is the last big training day before the taper starts… And I’m really feeling ready for it now! My whole body aches and is tired, so I’m ready for a lighter volume.

What I’m not ready for is all the irrational thoughts associated with a taper… The ‘omg x,y,z hurts therefore I’m injured, I haven’t trained enough, can I even do this?!’ And the ‘you sneezed… Get away from me I can’t get ill I’m tapering!’ #mental  

I know what I’m like though, tapering is never easy for me I always feel like I should be doing something. I get bored, and guilty for the amount (and type) of food I eat! Silly really 😁

Well that’s it for now, thanks for reading!

A tired and rather ready to taper triathlete x

Leave a Reply

