So training has been going well, consistently which is good. There’s been a couple of races since I last posted, both of which have been pretty good.

Week fourteen saw Reading Half Marathon, an event I’ve done before… 3 years ago in the build up to my first London Marathon. That day it was pouring with rain and absolutely freezing, as a result it wasn’t an event I overly enjoyed and came away without many memories of it. Apart from the finish being in the Madejski Stadium which was pretty cool!

This year I prepared the night before with what is becoming an obligatory pre race routine, a large (sharing) bag of Dairy Milk giant buttons… Delish!

The beauty of local races is that you don’t have to get up at silly o’clock, so on the morning of April 3rd we had a leisurely start, before heading to our friends Corinne and Liam’s to taxi to the start together along with Liam’s coach Gary. 

After queuing for the loo, dropping off kit and then queuing for the loo a couple more times, it was time to go. As I trotted over the start line I really had no idea how it was going to go… 

From what I’d remembered of Reading there was a couple of hills but mainly flat. Oh no. There were a lot of hills! 

The support was fantastic, I saw people from my running club and one of the girls from work came to watch… It was awesome, cracking atmosphere!

I felt really strong all the way round, kept my pace together to have all miles sub 7:00. I came over the finish line in 1:26:54!!! Another new PB!   

   
After food with Corinne, Liam and Gary, it was home and chill for the rest of the afternoon 😊

Week 15 was fairly chilled, with the odd bike commute, a couple of swims and my last ‘long’ run of marathon training… 15 miles on Friday afternoon. I’d taken a half day as we were supposed to be going to London but Simon had to go in a work trip after the hotel had been booked, so I took the time off anyway and decided to use it productively to get my run done. 

It felt pretty good, the sun shined and I was rather happy!

Friday night and Saturday were spent in London, we did a very easy 5 miles on Saturday morning, along the embankment and past Big Ben, Buckingham Palace and down the Mall. I obviously got very excited as the next time I’m there will be London Marathon day! 

Saturday afternoon we went for lunch at Marco Pierre White’s steak house, then to see Book of Mormon (HILARIOUS!!!) and then up the top of the Shard. All in all a brilliant day!   

   
Sunday morning was yet another early start, this time for the first multisport race of the year… The Dinton Duathlon, a 5.2km run, 20km cycle, 5.2km run in the beautiful Dinton Pastures 😊

The race started really well, I started relatively near the front, and overtook a fair few people on the run to come into T1 as First Lady… Out onto the bike, which was largely on roads we cycle all the time, I held my own and was passed by 3 or 4 men until around 6 miles when I was passed by a girl, who was absolutely FLYING. She shot past me and was gone, along with my hopes of victory. 

As I rolled into T2, in second, I fought hard to try and make up some ground, but she was just too quick so I plodded over the finish line in 2nd. Ah well!

Annoyingly she had been slower than me on both runs by over a minute each, but she had 4 minutes in me on the bike, and yet finished a mere 31 seconds ahead!! Frustrating to say the least, ah well I still came away with a trophy!

To make up for my poor performance, Simon only went and won the whole race!!! Proud girlfriend moment for sure 😊    

Week Sixteen marked the start of the taper… And London Marathon countdown!! A couple of runs including a 12 miler I got up at 5:20 to do before work (😳), 1 swim and 1 cycle, is all I’ve managed this week! 

On Saturday 16th April I was honored to be a bridesmaid for the first time for one of my closest friends, Clare, as she married her childhood sweetheart, Dave, in a beautiful day in London. I must admit it was quite fun being a girl for the day! I had my hair done properly, did my make up and got to wear a pretty dress and have some lovely flowers 😊 it was lovely to celebrate with Clare and Dave and catch up with friends from uni. I was a bit sad as Simon couldn’t make it as he was in Germany racing the European Duathlon Championships in Kalkar for GB!

  

    
On Sunday, Zeus and I got up early and headed off to Brighton on the train to go and watch Corinne run the Brighton Marathon, a race close to my heart as I’ve done it twice and it’s where I got my PB (3:29) in 2014.

It was Zeus’s first outing on the train, he was a good little boy 😊   

   

It was a wonderful day, I’ve never actually watched a marathon before, other than London on the tv when I was growing up, so it was amazing to feel the atmosphere from the other side! 

One thing that amazed me was how slow the elites looked like they were running, despite the winning lady finishing in 2:34 she looked so easy and like she was jogging really!

Corinne’s hubby Liam and I walked about 8 miles to spot her at various places, and I also spotted a few other friends who were running. All in all there were some great times and Corinne came home in 3:44:35, a PB and a good for age spot for London next year… So happy for her! 🙂 
So on to race week… Lots of rest, good food and a little bit of training is in store to get to the start line for London!

Eeeeeek! 

 

